Y300-0151, how to restore “image signature verify fail” caused brick

The story is under the limitation that I did not want to unlock my bootloader, although finally I have to unlock it to unbrick my phone.

Yesterday, I used the one-click root tool on this website http://www.mgyun.com/vroot to root my Y300. After the process finished(it does exactly what the tool said, just one click and your phone is rooted), my phone is rooted with a customized Superuser application. However, the tool also installed some promoted applications. As I am always concerned about the phone’s security, I decided to clean the current root and replace it with Supersu.

The first thing I did is to download Supersu from Google Play. I opened it and it said “old su binary” and suggested me to upgrade it. It offered two options, one was “normal”(?), the other one was “using TWRP/CWM”. But sadly, the first option did not work and the second was not available because the stock recovery. I’ve also tried utilizing the “moving to /system” option in the settings of Supersu. It did not work either.

Later I was thinking about using the flashable zip file to replace the root files. Although I did not have a custom recovery, I could somehow using the root privilege I already have to simulate what the recovery will do. I am not sure whether could root user delete su binary and replace it with new one (later information on Google search about unroot shows it is possible). So I came up with the idea that I could install a custom recovery with locked bootloader.

Here come the question, which partition was the recovery files in? There was little information about the partition table. Luckily I find it from the TWRP project. I extracted the recovery.img of TWRP for Y300, and find one file contains the partition mapping relationship. (I should know this in the beginning, as developing a custom recovery requires the understanding of the hardware of the device. Of course partition table is an important one). So the recovery is located in /dev/block/mmcblk0p13.

Using dd command, I copied the custom recovery image to mmcblk0p13. After that I typed in to the adb shell, “reboot recovery”. However, the phone rebooted and stopped with a warning sign, it sais “image signature verify failed”. It asked me to update the image to official one. But there is no way I can do this without unlocking my bootloader. I can not boot into the system. Only fastboot works, but I could not use it to flash recovery. So it seemed like that the phone had been bricked. After careful thinking, I realized that the only way to unbrick it was unlocking bootloader, which may bypass the signature verification. The success chance is about 80%, because in a post it said the phone need a official recovery to unlock, while another post, which is exactly the same circumstance as I have, said he unbricked the phone by unlocking bootloader again.

Here comes another problem, how can I get the product ID that Huawei requires to submit the unlock request form. I read from the web that one may send IMEI and S/N without product ID to the email mobile@huawei.com to get the unlock code. But I tried and they just reply to request on the Huawei website, which means product ID is required. I must admit that I almost lost my hope after I received the reply. I sadly searching the web in a hope that some one may posted a way to get the product ID of an already bricked phone. The most luckily thing happened. About half a month ago, a developer lived in south Asia posted a tool called Huawei Product ID Generator. It requires your phone’s IMEI and product model, then the product is calculated instantly. I tried the output on Huawei’s website and it succeeded! I got the unlock code within a day and I used the code to unlock bootloader. My phone is back to life.

Apr. 5th 2014, update:

According to adge40, there is an app called “Huawei Bootloader Unlocker” on Google Play, which could be used to unlock the bootloader without the unlock code from Huawei official website. Use it at your own risk.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Y300-0151, how to restore “image signature verify fail” caused brick

  1. adge40 says:

    I have same problem after installing twrp forgetting boot loader was locked,my question is this how do you unlock boot loader on a bricked phone??,I can only get pink screen vol +- and power,the only other screen is the signature fail one p.s. I’m a noob 😦

    • shaobozhang says:

      I used vol- and power to get into fastboot mode. Although the phone will display signature failed even when you try to get into fastboot mode, the computer can recognize the phone connected. You could try to type “fastboot devices” to check that. Then if you try to run “fastboot oem unlock ” in the terminal, it will unlock the bootloader. The problem is that I could not get the 16-digit code because my phone has bricked at that time, but luckily there is an app to get the phone’s information for requesting an unlock code from Huawei. After unlocking the signature problem will be solved.

  2. avenir791 says:

    Hi
    I have the same problem, my huawei y300-100 cant’t boot and show three colors (green, blue and red).the oc dont reconise my phone in fast boot, I tried the dowload mode (pressine + and – volume and power button in same time) to do update frome my sd card (dload) but there is no result the update is failed . plz give me tools that you used to unbrick my huawei y300 and thank u

  3. avenir791 says:

    i hope that my pc reconise my phone in fastbook mode, but i tried the pressing volume – with power in same time it’s still give me the colored screean and when i met fastboot device in my windows prompt, he sosn’t reconise it., help me plz if u can and thanks u for all

  4. Carlos Gomez says:

    I have y300 0151 with blue screen i need to download this firmware HUAWEI_Y300_firmware(Y300-0151,Android 4.1,Emotion_UI,V100R001C45B170,Colombia-Tigo,05011NDQ).zip I dont have please helpme

  5. adge40 says:

    Well I solved the image signature verify fail by simply unpacking the b199 firmware using the update app. method but thank you for you’re advice,oh by the way there is a huawei bootloader unlock app in Google play,two clicks and bootloader is unlocked,my phone is now running the slimkat build 4 ROM on kitkat 🙂

    • shaobozhang says:

      Glad to hear the good news! Also, thanks for your suggestion.

    • Raluca Darius Nicolae says:

      Sorry for my bad english…pls write to me how do you unbrick your phone…step by step…if you want….pls pls pls…i have huawei y 300 0100…pls..i wait your message at my e-mail adress:andr3y_steaua16@yahoo.com….

      • adge40 says:

        I will help you unbrick you’re phone,its easy but you need patience
        1. Find and download firmware on huawei official site(I used general version)
        2.create new empty folder on you’re PC desktop
        3.now extract downloaded firmware to you’re new folder
        4. On a blank formatted SD card copy and paste update app from desktop to SD card
        5.remove battery from phone and insert SD card,wait about 10 seconds and place battery back in phone
        6.now hold volume down button and hold power button,you’re phone should now start installing the firmware in 2 steps,please be patient as a lot of the time the install fails at step 2 of 2,if it fails at step 2 of 2 more than once then you will have to try a different firmware I.e. b170,b186,b189 and so on(I tried 3 different firmwares before achieving success) google has all the various different firmwares,you have to find them and succeed with trial and error

      • adge40 says:

        I forgot to say at step 4 to place update app inside a folder on you’re SD card and name the folder dload

    • NiP says:

      Pls help me i treid your steps and they wont work i wiped my sd card and inserted dloader folder with update.app inside then i inserted sd card and baterry then i press volmedown+power and it still bricked so very PLSS help if you know how get out of this problem.

      PS:Sorry for bad English.

  6. garth13a says:

    hi shaobozhang. I’m have the same problem you had, how do you unlock bootloader when you get the password?

  7. rishedy says:

    asanfile is not free or you have another link please give me link coz ihave y511-0151,g526-L22

  8. hilmi says:

    hi, i have the same problem.. image signature verify failed.. could you teach me how to repair it ? please…
    sorry for bad english

  9. shoaib says:

    yessssssssssssssssssss i done it….from dload of b209……its working buddies…..no worry about bricking of phones

  10. alex zippen says:

    Hi, have the same problem, my investigation stopped on product id , as yours, but the link is dead, maybe you steel have this generator? please put it somewhere or send it to me. thanks

  11. NiP says:

    Hi, i have the same problem too, i tried to install TWRP and the program said my phone is bricked but i still was in my phone i can make phone calls and other things that can do unbricked phone.Can anyone help me pls.I think now i have to go for the warranty so they can reinstal android :((

Leave a comment